Plant Sciences Affiliates

 

Kat Anderson
Kat Anderson
USDA, NRCS, National Plant Data Center 
Ethnobotanical and Ecological Information. More info »
Phone: 530-902-7182
E-mail: mkanderson@ucdavis.edu

Ann Blechl
E-mail: aeblechl@ucdavis.edu 

Eric Brennan
E-mail: ebbrennan@ucdavis.edu

Larry Costello
Larry Costello
UCCE San Mateo/San Francisco Counties
Environmental Horticulture Advisor 
Specialty: Urban forestry and landscape horticulture More info » 
Phone: 650-726-9059 ext 108
E-mail: lrcostello@ucdavis.edu

Kevin Day
Kevin Day
UCCE Tulare County           
Farm Advisor 
Specialty: Fresh-shipping deciduous tree fruits. Cultural practices and production, fruit growth and development, pruning and training systems More info »
Phone: 559-684-3311
E-mail: krday@ucdavis.edu

Carolyn DeBuse
Carolyn DeBuse
UCCE Yolo/Solano Counties           
Yolo/Solano County Orchard Systems Farm Advisor 
Specialty: Walnuts, Almonds, Prunes and general fruit and nut crop  More info »
Phone: 707-784-1320
E-mail: cjdebuse@ucdavis.edu

A. James Downer

A. James Downer

UCCE Ventura County           
Pathology of landscape ornamentals , Phytophthora Root Rot, Mulches, Potting soils, Palm horticulture, Arboriculture, Master Gardener Coordinator, Research Advisory Committee Chair for the Hansen Trust  More info »
Phone: 805-645-1458
E-mail: ajdowner@ucdavis.edu

Rachel Elkins
Rachel Elkins
UCCE Lake/Mendocino Counties           
Pomology Farm Advisor in Lake and Mendocino Counties and Master Gardener Advisor in Lake County  More info »
Phone: 707-263-6838
E-mail: rbelkins@ucdavis.edu


Romeo Favreau

Researcher
Plant Sciences 
237 Hunt Hall
Phone: 530-754-4322 
e-mail: rrfavreau@ucdavis.edu

Deborah Giraud
Deborah Giraud
UCCE Humboldt County           
Farm and Community / Economic Development Advisor 
Specialty: Plant sciences, fruit trees, vegetables, community development, ornamentals More info »
Phone: 707-445-7351
E-mail: ddgiraud@ucdavis.edu

John Goeschl
E-mail: jgoeschl@ucdavis.edu

Christopher Greer
Christopher A. Greer, Ph.D.
UCCE Sutter-Yuba           
Farm Advisor - Rice Farming Systems 
Specialty: Rice - Pest management, cultural practices, environmental interactions More info »
Phone: 530-822-7515
E-mail: cagreer@ucdavis.edu

Brenda Grewell
Brenda Grewell 
USDA-ARS, Research Ecologist 
Applied research is focused on the ecology of exotic & invasive wetland plants to support improved weed management and ecological restoration.  Current focus is on ecology of invasive water primroses (Ludwigiasp.), factors that influence weed colonization and spread, aquatic weed response to water management, and restoration strategies for weed-infested emergent and riparian wetlands.
Phone: 530-752-0166
E-mail: bjgrewell@ucdavis.edu

Wesley Hackett
Differential expression and functional significance of anthocyanins in relation to phasic development.
Phone: 530-754-9086
E-mail: wphackett@ucdavis.edu

Chuck Ingels
Chuck A. Ingels
UCCE Sacramento
Farm Advisor 
Specialty: Tree crops, grapes and strawberries, environmental horticulture, and Master Gardeners/urban horticulture. Areas of research and extension focus include IPM, evaluation of sustainable products and practices, water conservation and deficit irrigation, home orchards and vineyards, and tree training, pruning, and grafting. More info »
Phones: 916-875-6913 Direct: 916-875-6527
E-mail: caingels@ucdavis.edu

Cai-Zhong Jiang
Cai-Zhong Jiang

Postharvest biology and technology of floricultural/ornamental crops, with particular focus on the molecular basis of plant senescence and abscission; effect of biotic and abiotic stresses on the performance of ornamental crops; genomics and applied biotechnology. More info»

Adjunct Professor
Crops Pathology & Genetic Research Unit
USDA, Agricultural Research Service
103 Mann Lab, Mail-Stop 3, Department of Plant Sciences
Office: 530-752-7060
Lab: 530-752-3491
Fax: 530-752-4554
E-mail: cjiang@ucdavis.edu


Francois Korn
E-mail: fkorn@ucdavis.edu

Donald Lancaster
UCCE Modoc County
Emeriti
E-mail: dllancaster@ucdavis.edu

David Lewis
David Lewis 
UCCE Marin County
Director 
Specialty: Watershed Management and Research More info »
Phone: 415-499-4204
E-mail: djllewis@ucdavis.edu

David Lile
David Lile 
UCCE Lassen
County Director 
Specialty: Livestock / Natural Resources More info »
Phone: 530-251-8133 
E-mail: dflile@ucdavis.edu

Rachael Freeman Long
Rachael Freeman Long 
UCCE Yolo
Farm Advisor   Field Crops   Pest Management 
Specialty: Pest management, agronomy, dry beans, alfalfa, water quality, oil seed crops More info »
Phone: 530-666-8734 
E-mail: rflong@ucdavis.edu

John Madsen

John Madsen
USDA-ARS
Research focus on the biology, ecology and management of aquatic weeds, with an emphasis on the life history analysis of invasive plants and selective management to assist in the recovery or preservation of native plant communities.
Phone: 530-752-7870
E-mail: jmadsen@ucdavis.edu


Greg McPherson
USDA Forest Service 
E-mail: egmcpherson@ucdavis.edu


Robert Mikkelsen


G. David Miller

G. David Miller
Academic Coordinator and Lecturer
Dept. of Plant Sciences, University of California
205 Hunt Hall
One Shields Avenue
Davis CA 95616
Cell: 530-817-1400 
Office: 530-754-4424 
Email: gdmiller@ucdavis.edu
Web page


Franz Niederholzer, Ph. D.

Franz Niederholzer, Ph.D.
UCCE Sutter County
Farm Advisor   Orchard Systems 
Specialty: Prunes, almonds, pears, apple, cherry, olive, plum, citrus, and pomegranate More info» 
Phone: 530-822-7515
E-mail: fjniederholzer@ucdavis.edu


Malcolm North

Malcolm North
USDA Forest Service 
Phone: 530-754-7398
E-mail: mnorth@ucdavis.edu
Lab web page


Michael Pitcairn

Michael Pitcairn
Califormia Department of Food and Agriculture 
E-mail: mjpitcairn@ucdavis.edu


John Randall

John Randall
The Nature Conservancy
Mission is to provide field staff of The Nature Conservancy with sound management advice on how to address their invasive weed problems, strategically and at effective scale.
The Invasive Species Initiative
Phone: 530-754-8890
E-mail: jarandall@ucdavis.edu


Barry Rice
Associate in AES
Plant Sciences
122 Robbins Hall 
Phone: 530-754-8891 
E-mail: bamrice@ucdavis.edu 


John Roncoroni

John Roncoroni
UCCE Napa County
Weed Science Farm Advisor 
Specialty: Weed Control and Vegetation Management in Perennial Crops, Covercrops and Aquatic and Riparian Weed Control More info »
Phone: 707-253-4221
E-mail: jaroncoroni@ucdavis.edu


Howard Shapiro
E-mail: hyshapiro@ucdavis.edu 


David Spencer

David Spencer
USDA-ARS
Research efforts are directed at developing new approaches to aquatic plant managment from an understanding of reproductive ecology of weedy aquatic plants, competitive interactions between exotic and native species, defense chemistry and resource allocation, and phenological models of weed growth and development. 
Phone: 530-752-1096
E-mail: dfspencer@ucdavis.edu


Paul Vossen

Paul Vossen
UCCE Sonoma County
Farm Advisor Sonoma & Marin Counties Fruits Vegetables Marketing 
Specialty: Tree fruits and nuts, vegetable crops, small farm specialty crops; marketing, Master Gardener Program, organic - sustainable production, olive oil, chestnuts, apples More info »
Phone: 707-565-2621
E-mail: pmvossen@ucdavis.edu


Rob Wilson

Rob Wilson
UCCE Tule Lake REC/Modoc County
Intermountain REC Director/Farm Advisor 
Specialty: weed managment in potatoes, onions, mint, forages, and range/wildlands More info »
Phone: 530-667-5117
E-mail: rgwilson@ucdavis.edu


Steve Wright

Steve Wright
UCCE Tulare County
Farm Advisor- Tulare and Kings Counties 
Specialty: Cotton, small grains, weed control More info »
Phone: 559-684-3315
E-mail: sdwright@ucdavis.edu


Pablo Zamora
E-mail: pazamora@ucdavis.edu