Emeriti/Retired

 
Steffen Abel | Plant Sciences -- Phosphate sensing; Chemopreventive glucosinolates; Auxin action.
sabel@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Husein Ajwa | Plant Sciences -- Soil and water management, methyl bromide alternatives, cool-season vegetables.
haajwa@ucdavis.edu



 
Michael Barbour | Plant Sciences -- Wildland vegetation of California, especially the dynamics of vernal pool vegetation, salt marsh, dune scrub, desert scrub, and montane forest, and the effect of management practices on such vegetation.
mgbarbour@ucdavis.edu



 
Alison Berry | Plant Sciences -- Assessment of nitrogen-fixing plants; root and root nodule development; plant biomass bioconversion; microbial lipid metabolism.
amberry@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Fredrick Bliss | Pomology -- .
fabliss@ucdavis.edu



 
William R. Breidenbach | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
rwbreidenbach@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Ivan Buddenhagen | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
iwbuddenhagen@ucdavis.edu



 
David Burger | Plant Sciences -- Woody plant physiology; turfgrass management; microcalorimetry.
dwburger@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Robert Carlson | Plant Sciences -- .




No Image  
William Clawson | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
wjclawson@msn.com



 
Theodore DeJong | Plant Sciences -- Environmental plant physiology; photosynthetic efficiency of tree crops relative to the utilization of nitrogen, water, and solar radiation.
tmdejong@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Montague W. Demment | Plant Sciences -- Feeding ecology and nutrition of herbivores, international development with focus on human nutrition.
mwdemment@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
R Ford Denison | Plant Sciences -- Evolution of legume-rhizobium symbiosis. .
rfdenison@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Don Durzan | Plant Sciences -- Cell biology and biotechnolgy on embryogenesis in gymnosperms. Recovery of anti-cancer compounds from Taxus species. Nitric oxide signaling and metabolism of L-arginine. Naturally occuring guanidines.
djdurzan@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Clyde Elmore | Vegetable Crops -- .
clelmore@ucdavis.edu



 
Albert Fischer | Plant Sciences -- Ecophysiology and competition of weeds in rice, ecology, herbicide-resistant weeds, integrated weed management.
ajfischer@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Theodore Foin | Plant Sciences -- Competitive interactions between rice and weeds and between tidal marsh species. Simulation modeling, especially of plant populations and ecosystems.
tcfoin@ucdavis.edu



 
Shu Geng | Plant Sciences -- Agricultural/systems; modeling and simulation of environmental impact on agricultural production and food systems; productivity and risk assessment; comparisons of agricultural systems in Pacific Rim countries. Fluent in Chinese.
sgeng@ucdavis.edu



 
Melvin George | Plant Sciences -- Range and pasture improvement, grazing management, rangeland water quality, rangeland management practices, ranch planning, ecological sites, state and transition models.
mrgeorge@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Sham Goyal | Plant Sciences -- Regulation of nitrogen uptake, metabolism, and usage efficiency, physiology of abiotic stress (e.g., salinity) and tolerance, site-specific tillage for reduced energy input and research and analytical techniques and instrumentation.
ssgoyal@ucdavis.edu



 
James Harding | Plant Sciences -- Genetics and breeding of flower crops with emphasis on Gerbera; multivariate statistical methods; multitrait selection, inbreeding and crossbreeding; clonal selection and cultivar evaluation.
jaharding@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
James Harrington | Plant Sciences -- .




 
Charles E. Hess | Environmental Horticulture -- .
cehess@ucdavis.edu



 
James (Jim) E. Hill | Plant Sciences -- Conducts research and education programs on rice based cropping systems with focus on production technologies such as direct seeding; weed control; nutrition; residue management; and the relationship of these factors to environmental quality. Rice website: www.plantsciences.ucdavis.edu/uccerice/ .
jehill@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Ray C. Huffaker | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .




 
Leland Jackson | Plant Sciences -- Growth development and plant breeding of small grain diseases; pathogen variability host resistance and genetics of host/parasite interaction; integrated pest management and integrated crop management; agricultural systems.
lfjackson@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Subodh K. Jain | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
skjain@ucdavis.edu



 
R. Scott Johnson | Plant Sciences -- Freestone peaches, nectarines, plums, apples and kiwifruit.
sjohnson@uckac.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Milton B. Jones | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .




No Image  
Bud Kay | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
bkay9192@pacbell.net



 
John Labavitch | Plant Sciences -- We study cell wall metabolism, often in relationship to the postharvest biology of fruits. Specific topics include ripening-associated fruit softening, plant interactions with pathogens and insects, and, more recently, cell wall disassembly in relationship to the production of "second generation" biofuels..
jmlabavitch@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
W. Thomas Lanini | Plant Sciences -- Low input weed control in vegetables and agronomic crops.
wtlanini@ucdavis.edu



 
Kirk Larson | Plant Sciences -- Strawberry production physiology and management; strawberry breeding; statewide, national, and international research and outreach; fluent in Spanish. .
kdlarson@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
William M. Longhurst | Agronomy & Range Sciences/Entomology -- .




 
James M. Lyons | Vegetable Crops -- .
jmlyons@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Vern L. Marble | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
vlmarble@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
George C. Martin | Pomology -- .




 
Gale McGranahan | Plant Sciences -- Breeding, selection, genetics, foreign gene transfer, and tissue culture of walnuts for rootstock and variety improvement.
ghmcgranahan@ucdavis.edu



 
Warren Micke | Pomology -- .
wcmicke@ucdavis.edu



 
Donald Nevins | Plant Sciences -- Complex carbohydrates comprising the plant cell wall; enzymic mechanisms for the bioconversion of plant materials.
djnevins@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Robert Norris | Vegetable Crops -- .
rfnorris@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Jack L. Paul | Environmental Horticulture -- .
jlpaul@ucdavis.edu



 
Donald Phillips | Plant Sciences -- Agronomy, crop physiology, soil microbiology, plant-microbe interactions, soil food webs.
daphillips@ucdavis.edu



 
Richard Plant | Plant Sciences -- Application of systems analysis to crop and resource management; including statistical analysis; geographic information systems; and mathematical modeling.
replant@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Vito Polito | Plant Sciences -- Reproductive biology of fruit tree species emphasizing development, morphology and cell biology of pollination and fruit set. Reproductive biology of olive, especially as it relates to olive oil production..
vspolito@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Ann Powell | Plant Sciences -- Associate Research Biochemist -- Associate Research Biochemist -- Biochemist - elucidate the biochemistry underlying changes in the integrity of fruit during ripening utilizing molecular genetic approaches; Website.
alpowell@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Calvin O. Qualset | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
coqualset@ucdavis.edu



 
Carlos F. Quiros | Plant Sciences -- Structure and evolution of the Brassica structural and comparative genomics; genetics and breeding of secondary metabolites in Brassica crops species; celery breeding and genetics.
cfquiros@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Charles Raguse | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
caraguse@ucdavis.edu



 
D. William Rains | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- Investigates the effect of salinity on the nutrition and metabolism of plant genotypes varying in salt tolerance and studies nitrogen use efficiency of crop plants.
derains@ucdavis.edu



 
David Ramos | Pomology -- .
deramos@ucdavis.edu



 
Lawrence Rappaport | Vegetable Crops -- .
lrappaport@ucdavis.edu



 
Michael Reid | Plant Sciences -- Postharvest technology; handling and marketing of environmental plants; postharvest physiology; physiology of flowering; chilling injury; action of ethylene; molecular biology of flower senescence.
msreid@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Kevin Rice | Plant Sciences -- Plant population ecology; rangeland ecology; restoration ecology; conservation biology; ecological genetics.
kjrice@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Roger J. Romani | Pomology -- .
rjromani@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Vince Rubatzky | Vegetable Crops -- .
VNVatNJ@aol.com



 
J. Neil Rutger | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- USDA, Adjunct Professor.
nrutger@ucdavis.edu



 
Mikal Saltveit | Plant Sciences -- Postharvest physiology; physiology of plant responses to abiotic stress.
mesaltveit@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Douglas Shaw | Plant Sciences -- Genetics and breeding of small fruits, especially strawberries.
dvshaw@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Paul Smith | Vegetable Crops -- .
pgsmith@ucdavis.edu



 
Steven Temple | Plant Sciences -- Agronomy and host plant resistance breeding of grain legumes, sustainable farming systems, fluent in Spanish.
srtemple@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Herman Timm | Vegetable Crops -- .
htimm@ucdavis.edu



 
Robert Travis | Plant Sciences -- Membrane biology; crop physiology; agronomy.
rltravis@ucdavis.edu



No Image  
Kent Tyler | Plant Sciences -- .




No Image  
Raymond Valentine | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .




 
Chris van Kessel | Plant Sciences -- Agronomy, soil fertility, nutrient cycling, cropping systems, international agriculture.
cvankessel@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Larry Vanderhoef | Plant Sciences -- Plant Biochemist.
lnvanderhoef@ucdavis.edu



 
Ronald Voss | Plant Sciences -- Vegetable production and management systems; potato improvement; potato, onion and garlic culture and physiology; sustainable agriculture; small farms.
revoss@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Barbara Webster | Agronomy & Range Sciences -- .
bdwebster@ucdavis.edu



 
Steven Weinbaum | Plant Sciences -- Reproductive biology of fruit trees, rootstock-scion relations, dormancy; utilization of fertilizer nitrogen; sustainable agriculture.
saweinbaum@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


 
Lin Wu | Plant Sciences -- Turfgrass breeding and management; ecological genetics; plant mineral nutrition and environmental stress physiology.
llwu@ucdavis.edu
Homepage


No Image  
Masatoshi Yamaguchi | Vegetable Crops -- .