Faculty

List of Faculty Section Affiliation

Kassim Al-Khatib
Melvin D. Androus Endowed Professor for Weed Science -- conduct research and education program on weed ecology, integrated weed management, and pesticide drift.
(530)752-9160 | 279A ROBBINS
kalkhatib@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Brian Bailey
Assistant Professor -- Crop/plant modeling.
530-752-7478 | 2021 WICKSON
bnbailey@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Diane M. Beckles
Associate Professor and Associate Postharvest Biochemist -- Mechanisms controlling carbon allocation and postharvest quality of crop plants .
(530) 754-4779 | 133 ASMUNDSON
dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Alan Bennett
Distinguished Professor and Director of PIPRA -- Molecular biology of fruit ripening and Director of Public Intellectual Property Resource for Agriculture.
(530) 752-1411 | 1117 PRB
abbennett@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Barbara Blanco-Ulate
Assistant Professor -- Systems biology of fruit ripening, fruit-pathogen interactions, and postharvest quality.
(530) 752-9096 | 102 MANN LAB
bblanco@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Arnold Bloom
Professor -- Nutrient acquisition and carbon assimilation in relation to environmental stress; mechanisms of nitrogen uptake and assimilation.
(530) 752-1743 | 102 ASMUNDSON
ajbloom@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Eduardo Blumwald
Distinguished Professor and Will W. Lester Endowed Chair -- Cellular and molecular bases of adaptation of plants to biotic and abiotic stress; The molecular bases of fruit quality .
(530) 752-4640 | 1119 PRB
eblumwald@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Kent Bradford
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Seed Biotechnology Center -- Development, maintenance, and expression of seed quality; plant water relations; developmental and growth regulation.
(530) 752-6087 | 1107 PRB
kjbradford@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Patrick Brown
Professor -- Physiology and biochemistry of plant nutrient uptake, interactions of nutrition with disease resistance and the selection of crops with improved nutrient efficiency..
(530) 752-0929 | 3045 WICKSON
phbrown@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Patrick James Brown
-- .
| 3019 WICKSON
pjbrown@ucdavis.edu
Section: Unknown

Charlie Brummer
Director and Professor, Center for Plant Breeding -- Alfalfa breeding and genomics and improvement of other forage crops; Wild rice breeding.
| 1234 PES
ecbrummer@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Mary Cadenasso
Professor -- Urban and Landscape Ecology. Linking landscape pattern to ecosystem function and understanding how human activities alter that link.
(530) 754-6151 | 1314 PES
mlcadenasso@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Roger Chetelat
Geneticist and Director, C.M. Rick Tomato Genetics Resource Center -- Molecular and classical genetics of tomato; interspecific reproductive barriers and self-incompatibility; genetic recombination in plants; natural diversity.
(530) 752-6726 | 104 ASMUNDSON
trchetelat@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Carlos H. Crisosto
Associate Director, Postharvest Technology Center and Director, Fruit and Nut Research and Information Center -- Fruit Quality and Technology.
(530) 752-7549 | 1061 WICKSON
chcrisosto@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Abhaya Dandekar
Distinguished Professor-- Director, Plant Transformation Facility -- Molecular, biochemical, genomic and epigenetic dissection of tree fruit traits to reveal novel genes, new diagnostic tools and to deploy gene-based therapeutics.
(530) 752-7784 | 152 ROBBINS
amdandekar@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Georgia Drakakaki
Associate Professor -- Cell wall biosynthesis and polysaccharide transport and deposition. Endomembrane trafficking..
(530) 752-1664 | 210 ASMUNDSON | 210 ASMUNDSON
gdrakakaki@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Jorge Dubcovsky
Distinguished Professor -- Genetics; wheat breeding and wheat genetics.
(530) 752-5159 | 132 ROBBINS
jdubcovsky@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Jan Dvorak
Distinguished Professor -- Agricultural Plant Biology.
(530) 752-6549 | 271 HUNT
jdvorak@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Richard Evans
Specialist in CE -- Management of commercial flower and nursery crops; nutrition of ornamental plants; container soil-plant interactions; propagation, production, and field establishment of plants.
(530) 752-6617 | 2051 WICKSON
ryevans@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Valerie Eviner
Associate Professor and Associate Ecologist in AES -- Using a mechanistic understanding of plant-soil interactions to increase our understanding and effective management of: ecosystem services, plant invasions, restoration, plant community composition, biogeochemical cycling, global change, grazing systems, and resilience of ecosystem structure and function.
(530) 752-8538 | 1312 PES
veviner@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Steven Fennimore
Specialist in CE -- Weed management in vegetable crops and small fruits as well as weed seed physiology and seed bank ecology.
(831) 755-2896
safennimore@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Louise Ferguson
Specialist in CE -- Pistachios, olives, figs, citrus, persimmons, pomegranates.
(530) 752-0507 | 2051 WICKSON
lferguson@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Amélie Gaudin
Assistant Professor -- Agroecology; cropping system diversity and resilience; ecological intensification; soil health; root ecophysiology.
(530) 752-1212 | 2136 PES
agaudin@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Paul Gepts
Distinguished Professor -- Biodiversity and genetic resources conservation; crop domestication and evolution; structural genomics and molecular evolution; bean and chickpea breeding.
(530) 752-7743 | 1242 PES
plgepts@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Matthew Gilbert
Assistant Professor -- .
(530) 752-7846 | 2314 PES
megilbert@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Thomas Gradziel
Professor -- Genetics and breeding of Prunus species.
(530) 752-1575 | 2055 WICKSON
tmgradziel@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Brad Hanson
Specialist in Cooperative Extension -- Herbicide-based weed management in perennial crops, herbicide-resistant weeds, IR-4 pesticide program, and soil fumigation.
(530) 752-8115 | 276 ROBBINS
bhanson@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Robert Hutmacher
Cooperative Extension Specialist and Director, UC West Side Research & Extension Center -- cotton production and quality issues, plant water stress, microirrigation.
(559) 260-8957
rbhutmacher@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Marie Jasieniuk
Professor -- Population genetics, molecular ecology, and evolution of agricultural weeds and invasive plants.
(530) 752-8166 | 269 ROBBINS
mjasien@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Judy Jernstedt
Professor -- vascular plant structure, development and evolution; crop plant anatomy and morphology; development and evolution of shoot apical meristem organization; shoot branching, especially dichotomous branching.
(530) 752-7166 | 213 HUNT
jjernstedt@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Cai-Zhong Jiang
Adjunct Professor -- Functional genomics, plant transcription factors, plant biotechnology and molecular biology, postharvest biology and technology of ornamentals.
(530) 752-7060 | 103 MANN LAB
cjiang@ucdavis.edu
Section: Unknown

Stephen Kaffka
Specialist in CE and Director, California Biomass Collaborative -- biofuels, bio-energy, sugar and oil crops, salinity management, sustainable agriculture.
(530) 752-8108 | 2308 PES
srkaffka@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Daniel Kliebenstein
Professor -- Plant Secondary metabolism, Metabolic networks and quantitative Genetics.
(530) 754-7775 | 129 ASMUNDSON
kliebenstein@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Steven Knapp
Professor and Director of the Strawberry Breeding Program -- Breeding, genetics, and genomics of strawberry, quantitative genetics, marker-assisted selection, and genomic selection.
530-752-6884 | 112 ROBBINS
sjknapp@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Emilio Laca
Professor -- Foraging behavior, range management, spatial heterogenicity, and geostatistical applications. Agricultural ecologist..
(530) 754-4083 | 2306 PES
ealaca@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Bruce Lampinen
Specialist in Cooperative Extension -- Coordination of extension teaching and research activities for almonds and walnuts on a statewide basis.
(530) 752-2588 | 2043 WICKSON
bdlampinen@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Andrew Latimer
Associate Professor and Associate Ecologist in AES -- Plant population and community ecology; climate, drought, and fire effects on forests and rangelands; statistical modeling.
(530) 752-0896 | 2224 PES
amlatimer@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

J. Heiner Lieth
Professor and Extension Specialist -- Crop ecology of greenhouse and nursery crops; greenhouse environment control automation; modeling of ornamental crops; automated irrigation.
530 752 7198 | 3057 WICKSON
jhlieth@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Bruce Linquist
Specialist in CE -- My focus is on sustainable management of rice systems - in particular fertility management, nutrient and carbon cycling, water use, water quality, and greenhouse gas emissions.
530 752-3125 | 3224 PES
balinquist@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Mark Lundy
Assistant Specialist in Cooperative Extension -- Agronomy, sustainable intensification, cropping systems analysis, input use efficiency, integrating technology and data into production practices.
530-902-7295 | 2134 PES
melundy@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

David Mackill
-- .

djmackill@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Maeli Melotto
Associate Professor -- Area of expertise: Biology of plant-microbe interactions, plant defenses against human and plant pathogens, stomatal immunity, bacterial pathogenesis.
(530) 752-1747 | 104 MANN LAB
melotto@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Richard Michelmore
Distinguished Professor and Director of the Genome Center -- Comparative functional genomics of disease resistance, lettuce genomics and breeding.
(530) 752-1729 | 4311 GBSF
rwmichelmore@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Elizabeth Mitcham
Specialist in CE and Center Director, Postharvest Technology Center -- Postharvest biology and technology of horticultural crops, including regulation of fruit ripening, calcium deficiency disorders, and postharvest control of insects in harvested products.
(530) 752-7512 | 1047 WICKSON
ejmitcham@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Jeffrey Mitchell
Specialist in CE -- Vegetable production; water management; agricultural ecology; crop management impacts on postharvest quality.
(559) 646-6565
jpmitchell@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

David Neale
Professor -- My primary research interest is in the discovery and understanding of the function of genes in forest trees, especially those controlling complex traits.
(530) 754-8431 | 262 ROBBINS
dbneale@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Lorence Oki
Specialist in CE (Appt. with Landscape Architecture Program in Human Ecology Dept) -- Irrigation and runoff management in environmental horticulture; water quality effects on plant growth; water use evaluation of plants for landscape horticulture; biological treatment of runoff water.
(530) 754-4135 | 1108 ENV HORT
lroki@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Dan Parfitt
Pomologist -- Genetics of fruit crops - genetic diversity, germplasm use, pistachio breeding.
(530) 752-7031 | 2025 WICKSON
deparfitt@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Daniel Potter
Professor -- Plant systematics; taxonomy, evolution, and phylogenetic relationships of fruit crops and their wild relatives; molecular approaches to phylogeny reconstruction; ethnobotany.
(530) 754-6141 | 2041 WICKSON
dpotter@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Daniel Putnam
Specialist in CE -- Alfalfa and forage crop systems, cellulosic biofuels, forage quality, crop ecology.
(530) 752-8982 | 2240 PES
dhputnam@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Leslie Roche
Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist -- Rangeland and pasture management, ecology of grazing lands, grazing systems, drought and climate change adaptation, participatory research .
(530) 752-5583 | 1232 PES
lmroche@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra
Professor -- Genomics and evolution of maize and its wild relatives.
(530) 752-1152 | 262 ROBBINS
rossibarra@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Daniel Runcie
Assistant Professor -- Computational and statistical plant biology, crop and gene network modeling, quantitative and evolutionary genomics.
(530) 746-8829 | 278 Robbins
deruncie@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Kenneth Shackel
Professor -- The impact of tree water status on productivity and the water relations and physiological activity of fruit.
(530) 752-0928 | 3039 WICKSON
kashackel@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Johan Six
Adjunct Professor -- Agroecology.
(530) 752-1212 | 2136 PES
jwsix@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Dina St. Clair
Professor Plant Breeding and Genetics -- Plant breeding, genetics and genomics of quantitative traits; quantitative genetics; use of wild species in crop and germplasm improvement; QTL introgression; marker-assisted selection and genomics in breeding..
(530) 752-1740 | 114 ASMUNDSON
dastclair@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Venkatesan Sundaresan
Professor -- Plant reproduction: Embryo sac development (Arabidopsis and Rice); Functional genomics: small RNAs, microbiomes (Rice).
(530) 754-9677 | 2133 LSA
sundar@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Trevor Suslow
CE Specialist -- Quality and safety of perishable horticultural commodities. Pre-harvest to postharvest research and outreach education on diverse fresh and minimally-processed horticultural foods from annual row crops to tree and vine commodities.
(530) 754-8313 | 103 MANN LAB
tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Kenneth Tate
Professor and Cooperative Extension Specialist - Russell L. Rustici Endowed Specialist in Cooperative Extension in Rangeland Watershed Science -- .
(530) 754-8988 | 1230 PES
kwtate@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Gail Taylor
Professor and Department Chair -- Plant adaptation to a changing climate, genetics and genomics of leafy salad crops, non-food woody biomass crops for bioenergy. Sustainability, ecosystem services, plants and the Sustainable Development Goals.
530 752 4362 530 902 6013 | 1210A PES
gtaylor@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Li Tian
Associate Professor -- Phytonutrient biochemistry and physiology; Biosynthesis, accumulation and function of carotenoids and polyphenols in plants; Targeted improvement of crop phytonutrient composition and content for enhanced nutritional and medicinal values..
(530) 752-0940 | 116 ASMUNDSON
ltian@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Astrid Volder
Associate Professor -- Root and rhizosphere biology in managed, urban and natural landscapes. Whole plant responses to environmental stress and a changing climate. .
(530) 752 8527 | 2057 Wickson
avolder@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

John Yoder
Professor -- Plant-plant interactions, plant molecular genetics, parasitic weeds.
(530) 752-1741 | 101 ASMUNDSON
jiyoder@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Truman Young
Professor and Restoration Ecologist -- Restoration Ecology and Conservation Biology. Plant population and community ecology in human-dominated landscapes; semi-arid ecosystems.
(530) 754-9925 | 2234 PES
tpyoung@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Florence Zakharov
Associate Professor -- Flavor and aroma biology of fruit and vegetable crops; molecular and biochemical aspects of aroma volatile formation and regulation during fruit development and after harvest.
(530) 752-4374 | 1057 WH
fnegre@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Maciej Zwieniecki
Professor -- Whole plant physiology.
530 752 9880 | 2316 PES
mzwienie@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences