Faculty

List of Faculty Section Affiliation

Kassim Al-Khatib
Specialist in CE and Director of UC-IPM program -- conduct research and education program on weed Ecology, integrated weed management, and pesticide drift..
(530)752-8350
kalkhatib@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Diane M. Beckles
Associate Professor and Associate Plant Biologist -- Genetic and biochemical mechanisms controlling carbon allocation in crop plants.
(530) 754-4779 | 133 ASMUNDSON
dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Alan Bennett
Professor and Director of PIPRA -- Molecular biology of fruit ripening and Director of Public Intellectual Property Resource for Agriculture.
(530) 752-1411 | 1117 PRB
abbennett@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Alison Berry
Professor -- Assessment of nitrogen-fixing plants; root and root nodule development; plant biomass bioconversion; microbial lipid metabolism.
(530) 752-7683 | 2228 PES
amberry@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Arnold Bloom
Professor -- Nutrient acquisition and carbon assimilation in relation to environmental stress; mechanisms of nitrogen uptake and assimilation.
(530) 752-1743 | 102 ASMUNDSON
ajbloom@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Eduardo Blumwald
Professor and Will W. Lester Endowed Chair -- Cellular and molecular bases of adaptation of plants to biotic and abiotic stress; The molecular bases of fruit quality .
(530) 752-4640 | 1119 PRB
eblumwald@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Kent Bradford
Professor and Director of the Seed Biotechnology Center -- Development, maintenance, and expression of seed quality; plant water relations; developmental and growth regulation.
(530) 752-6087 | 1107 PRB
kjbradford@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Patrick Brown
Professor -- Physiology and biochemistry of plant nutrient uptake, interactions of nutrition with disease resistance and the selection of crops with improved nutrient efficiency..
(530) 752-0929 | 3045 WICKSON
phbrown@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Charlie Brummer
Director and Professor, Center for Plant Breeding -- Alfalfa breeding and genomics and improvement of other forage crops; Wild rice breeding.

ecbrummer@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Unknown

Mary Cadenasso
Professor -- Investigating the effect of urbanization on plant community and nutrient dynamics and integrating ecological and social theories and urban design to enhance understanding and development of cities as sustainable coupled human-natural systems. Study exchanges of nutrients, pollutants, and organisms across landscape boundaries such as forest edges and riparian zones. Work across scales in metropolitan, semi-arid savanna and forest systems.
(530) 754-6151 | 1314 PES
mlcadenasso@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Marita Cantwell
Postharvest Specialist in CE -- Postharvest physiology, handling, and storage of vegetables, including specialty and fresh cut vegetables.
(530) 752-7305 | 106 MANN LAB
micantwell@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Roger Chetelat
Geneticist and Director, C.M. Rick Tomato Genetics Resource Center -- Molecular and classical genetics of tomato; interspecific reproductive barriers and self-incompatibility; genetic recombination in plants; natural diversity.
(530) 752-6726 | 104 ASMUNDSON
trchetelat@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Carlos H. Crisosto
Associate Director, Postharvest Technology Center and Director, Fruit and Nut Research and Information Center -- Fruit Quality and Technology.
(530) 752-7549 | 1061 WICKSON
chcrisosto@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Abhaya Dandekar
Professor -- Transfer, expression and regulation of foreign genes in fruit and nut crops.
(530) 752-7784 | 152 ROBBINS
amdandekar@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Theodore DeJong
Professor and CE Specialist -- Environmental plant physiology; photosynthetic efficiency of tree crops relative to the utilization of nitrogen, water, and solar radiation.
(530) 752-1843 | 3037 WICKSON
tmdejong@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Joseph DiTomaso
Specialist in CE and Department Chair -- Biology, ecology, and management of non-crop weeds in rangelands and wildlands.
(530) 754-8715 | 290 ROBBINS
jmditomaso@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Georgia Drakakaki
Assistant Professor -- Cell wall biosynthesis and polysaccharide transport and deposition. Endomembrane trafficking..
(530) 752-1664 | 210 ASMUNDSON
gdrakakaki@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Jorge Dubcovsky
Professor -- Genetics; wheat breeding and wheat genetics.
(530) 752-5159 | 132 ROBBINS
jdubcovsky@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Jan Dvorak
Professor -- Agricultural Plant Biology.
(530) 752-6549 | 271 HUNT
jdvorak@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Richard Evans
Specialist in CE -- Management of commercial flower and nursery crops; nutrition of ornamental plants; container soil-plant interactions; propagation, production, and field establishment of plants.
(530) 752-6617 | 2051 WICKSON
ryevans@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Valerie Eviner
Associate Professor and Associate Ecologist in AES -- Using a mechanistic understanding of plant-soil interactions to increase our understanding and effective management of: ecosystem services, plant invasions, restoration, plant community composition, biogeochemical cycling, global change, grazing systems, and resilience of ecosystem structure and function.
(530) 752-8538 | 1312 PES
veviner@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Steven Fennimore
Specialist in CE -- Weed management in vegetable crops and small fruits as well as weed seed physiology and seed bank ecology. -- Weed management in vegetable crops and small fruits as well as weed seed physiology and seed bank ecology.
(831) 755-2896
safennimore@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Louise Ferguson
Specialist in CE and Director of the Fruit and Nut Research and Information Center -- Pistachios, olives, figs, citrus, persimmons.
(530) 752-0507 | 2051 WICKSON
lferguson@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Albert Fischer
Professor -- Ecophysiology and competition of weeds in rice, ecology, herbicide-resistant weeds, integrated weed management.
(530) 752-7386 | 279 ROBBINS
ajfischer@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Paul Gepts
Professor -- Biodiversity and genetic resources conservation; crop domestication and evolution; structural genomics and molecular evolution; bean and chickpea breeding.
(530) 752-7743 | 1242 PES
plgepts@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Matthew Gilbert
Assistant Professor -- .
(530) 752-7846 | 2314 PES
megilbert@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Thomas Gradziel
Professor -- Genetics and breeding of Prunus species.
(530) 752-1575 | 2055 WICKSON
tmgradziel@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Brad Hanson
Associate Specialist in CE -- Weed management in perennial crops and methyl bromide alternatives.
(530) 752-8115 | 276 ROBBINS
bhanson@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Timothy Hartz
Specialist in CE -- Culture and management of warm season vegetables; soil and plant fertility; crop stand establishment.
(530) 752-1738 | 103 ASMUNDSON
tkhartz@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

James (Jim) E. Hill
Specialist in CE and CA&ES Associate Dean for International Programs -- Conducts research and education programs on rice based cropping systems with focus on production technologies such as direct seeding; weed control; nutrition; residue management; and the relationship of these factors to environmental quality. Rice website: www.plantsciences.ucdavis.edu/uccerice/ .
(530) 754-9600 | 150 MRAK
jehill@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Robert Hutmacher
Cooperative Extension Specialist and Director, UC West Side Research & Extension Center -- cotton production and quality issues, plant water stress, microirrigation.
(559) 260-8957
rbhutmacher@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Kentaro Inoue
Professor -- Plastid biogenesis, protein trafficking, protein maturation, membrane development, photosynthesis, isoprenoid metabolism.
(530) 752-7931 | 131 ASMUNDSON
kinoue@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Marie Jasieniuk
Associate Professor -- Population genetics, molecular ecology, and evolution of agricultural weeds and invasive plants.
(530) 752-8166 | 269 ROBBINS
mjasien@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Judy Jernstedt
Professor -- vascular plant structure, development and evolution; crop plant anatomy and morphology; development and evolution of shoot apical meristem organization; shoot branching, especially dichotomous branching.
(530) 752-7166 | 213 HUNT
jjernstedt@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Stephen Kaffka
Specialist in CE and Director, California Biomass Collaborative -- biofuels, bio-energy, sugar and oil crops, salinity management, sustainable agriculture.
(530) 752-8108 | 2308 PES
srkaffka@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Gurdev Khush
Adjunct Professor -- Eminent scientist and widely recognized plant scientist; rice breeding and basic science in genetics.
(530) 754-5111 | 1105 PRB
gkhush@ucdavis.edu
Section: Unknown

Daniel Kliebenstein
Professor -- Plant Secondary metabolism, Metabolic networks and quantitative Genetics.
(530) 754-7775 | 129 ASMUNDSON
kliebenstein@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Emilio Laca
Professor -- Foraging behavior, range management, spatial heterogenicity, and geostatistical applications. Agricultural ecologist. -- Foraging behavior, range management, spatial heterogenicity, and geostatistical applications. Agricultural ecologist..
(530) 754-4083 | 2306 PES
ealaca@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Bruce Lampinen
Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension -- Coordination of extension teaching and research activities for almonds and walnuts on a statewide basis.
(530) 752-2588 | 2043 WICKSON
bdlampinen@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Kirk Larson
Pomologist (60%) and CE Specialist (40%) -- Strawberry production physiology and management; strawberry breeding; statewide, national, and international research and outreach; fluent in Spanish. .
(949) 857-0136
kdlarson@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Andrew Latimer
Associate Professor and Associate Ecologist in AES -- Plant population and evolutionary ecology; climate change effects on shrublands, forests and fire; statistical modeling.
(530) 752-0896 | 2230 PES
amlatimer@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

J. Heiner Lieth
Professor and Extension Specialist -- Crop ecology of greenhouse and nursery crops; greenhouse environment control automation; modeling of ornamental crops; automated irrigation.
530 752 7198 | 3057 WICKSON
jhlieth@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Bruce Linquist
Specialist in CE -- My focus is on sustainable management of rice systems - in particular fertility management, nutrient and carbon cycling, water use, water quality, and greenhouse gas emissions.
530 752-3125 | 3224 PES
balinquist@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

David Mackill
-- .

djmackill@ucdavis.edu
Section: Unknown

Muhammad Marrush
Lecturer -- Horticulture-Physiology/ 110 Bowley Center.
(530) 752-1688 | 110 BOWLEY
mamarrush@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Maeli Melotto
Assistant Professor -- Area of expertise: Biology of plant-microbe interactions, plant defenses against human and plant pathogens, stomatal immunity, bacterial pathogenesis.
(530) 752-1747 | 104 MANN LAB
melotto@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Richard Michelmore
Professor and Director of the Genome Center and Department of Plant Sciences (CA&ES);Section of Molecular and Cellular Biology (CBS); Medical Microbiology and Immunology (SOM) -- Comparative functional genomics of disease resistance, lettuce genomics and breeding.
(530) 752-1729 | 4311 GBSF
rwmichelmore@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Elizabeth Mitcham
Specialist in CE and Center Director, Postharvest Technology Center -- Postharvest biology and technology of horticultural crops, including regulation of fruit ripening, calcium deficiency disorders, and postharvest control of insects in harvested products.
(530) 752-7512 | 1047 WICKSON
ejmitcham@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Jeffrey Mitchell
Specialist in CE -- Vegetable production; water management; agricultural ecology; crop management impacts on postharvest quality.
(559) 646-6565
jpmitchell@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

David Neale
Professor -- My primary research interest is in the discovery and understanding of the function of genes in forest trees, especially those controlling complex traits.
(530) 754-8431 | 262 ROBBINS
dbneale@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Lorence Oki
Associate Specialist in CE (joint appointment with Landscape Architecture Program) -- Irrigation and runoff managment in urban horticulture; water quality effects on plant growth; evaluation and introduction of Mediterranean climate adapted plants for use in landscape horticulture.
(530) 754-4135 | 1108 ENV HORT
lroki@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Dan Parfitt
Pomologist -- Genetics of fruit crops - genetic diversity, germplasm use, pistachio breeding.
(530) 752-7031 | 2025 WICKSON
deparfitt@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Daniel Potter
Professor -- Plant systematics; taxonomy, evolution, and phylogenetic relationships of fruit crops and their wild relatives; molecular approaches to phylogeny reconstruction; ethnobotany. -- Plant systematics; taxonomy, evolution, and phylogenetic relationships of fruit crops and their wild relatives; molecular approaches to phylogeny reconstruction; ethnobotany.
(530) 754-6141 | 2041 WICKSON
dpotter@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Daniel Putnam
Specialist in CE -- Alfalfa and forage crop systems, cellulosic biofuels, forage quality, crop ecology.
(530) 752-8982 | 2240 PES
dhputnam@ucdavis.edu
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra
Associate Professor -- Genomics and evolution of maize and its wild relatives.
(530) 752-1152
rossibarra@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Mikal Saltveit
Professor -- Postharvest physiology; physiology of plant responses to abiotic stress.
(530) 752-1815 | 107 MANN LAB
mesaltveit@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Kenneth Shackel
Professor -- The impact of tree water status on productivity and the water relations and physiological activity of fruit.
(530) 752-0928 | 3039 WICKSON
kashackel@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Douglas Shaw
Professor -- Genetics and breeding of small fruits, especially strawberries.
(530) 752-0905 | 2021 WICKSON
dvshaw@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Johan Six
Adjunct Professor -- Agroecology.
(530) 752-1212 | 2136 PES
jwsix@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Dina St. Clair
Professor -- Breeding, genetics and genomics of tomato; manipulation of quantitatively inherited traits for crop plant improvement; gene introgression from wild species; use of molecular markers and genomics in breeding..
(530) 752-1740 | 114 ASMUNDSON
dastclair@ucdavis.edu
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Venkatesan Sundaresan
Professor -- Plant reproduction: Embryo sac development (Arabidopsis and Rice); Functional genomics: small RNAs, microbiomes (Rice).
(530) 754-9677 | 2133 LSA
sundar@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Trevor Suslow
Specialist in CE -- Integrated technologies for posthavest quality; postharvest pathology and biocontrol; postharvest quality and safety issues; refrigerated transportation.
(530) 754-8313 | 103 MANN LAB
tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Kenneth Tate
Professor and Cooperative Extension Specialist - Russell L. Rustici Endowed Chair in Rangeland Watershed Science -- rangeland management and ecology, riparian ecology, restoration ecology, water quality, watershed management.
(530) 754-8988 | 1230 PES
kwtate@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Li Tian
Associate Professor -- Phytonutrient biochemistry and physiology; Biosynthesis, accumulation and function of carotenoids and polyphenols in plants; Targeted improvement of crop phytonutrient composition and content for enhanced nutritional and medicinal values..
(530) 752-0940 | 221 ASMUNDSON
ltian@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Chris van Kessel
Professor and Department Chair -- Agronomy, soil fertility, nutrient cycling, cropping systems, international agriculture.
(530) 752-7323 | 1210A PES
cvankessel@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Astrid Volder
Assistant Professor -- Root and rhizosphere biology in managed, urban and natural landscapes. Whole plant responses to environmental stress and a changing climate. .
(530) 752 8527 | 2057 Wickson
avolder@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

John Yoder
Professor -- Plant-plant interactions, plant molecular genetics, parasitic weeds.
(530) 752-1741 | 101 ASMUNDSON
jiyoder@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Truman Young
Professor and Restoration Ecologist -- Restoration Ecology and Conservation Biology. Plant population and community ecology in human-dominated landscapes; semi-arid ecosystems.
(530) 754-9925 | 2234 PES
tpyoung@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences

Florence Zakharov
Associate Professor -- Flavor and aroma biology of fruit and vegetable crops; molecular and biochemical aspects of aroma volatile formation and regulation during fruit development and after harvest.
(530) 752-4374 | 1057 WH
fnegre@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Agricultural Plant Biology

Maciej Zwieniecki
Associate Professor -- Whole plant physiology.
530 752 9880
mzwienie@ucdavis.edu | Homepage
Section: Crop and Ecosystem Sciences